WGC 2011 Awards Recap

Writers Guild of Canada WGC WGA WGAW WGAE writer's guild winners award winning screenwritersThere’s an old saying in Hollywood: throw a stone in Hollywood, hit a Canadian. It’s true there are many Canadians thriving in Hollywood. But Canada boasts its own vibrant and celebrated filmmaking community right here, which is why we here at the CSSC are so proud to recap the winners of this year’s Writers Guild of Canada Screenwriting Awards (I mean it’s been just over a full month since they happened. You haven’t forgot who won yet, have you!?!?):

Movies & Miniseries

This year Michael Konyves won the WGC award in the Movies & Miniseries category for his work on Barney’s Version, which not only premiered at the Venice film festival in 2010, but won seven Genies. The film, an adaptation of Mordecal Richler’s novel of the same name, stars Paul Giamatti as Barney Panofsky.

TV Drama

Mark Ellis and Stephanie Morgenstern won the WGC award for their work on the hit series Flashpoint, which chronicles the challenges an elite police force faces as its members deal with hostage situations, gangs, and bomb scares. The show originally aired on CTV and was picked up by CBS in 2008. It’s now in its third season.


This year’s winner of the animation category, Karen Moonah, was honored for her work on the educational web series The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That!.


Christine Nielsen was the winner in the documentary category for her film The Pig Farm, a documentary about the inside story of serial killer Robert Pickton.

Shorts & Web Series

This year Lisa Hunter won for her film short You Are So Undead, a teen vampire sex comedy. The film screened at Screamfest as well as the Vampire Film Festival in New Orleans.

The WGC Showrunner Award

This year’s Showrunner Award went to Tassie Cameron, who has served as co-executive producer for Flashpoint. Her body of work also includes the TV series Rookie Blues and Degrassi: The Next Generation. The award honors writers who not only have an impressive body of work, but have shown generosity and loyalty to other writers.

The Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize

This prize was created to honor the work of Jim Burt in recognizing emerging screenwriting talent. Denise Blinn has won this year’s award for her script 1936.

Other winners include:

· Barbara Haynes, The Latest Buzz (Children & Youth category)

· Chris Sheasgreen, Less Than Kind (TV Comedy category)

· Peter Grant, the WGC Writers Block Award

About David Cormican

DAVID CORMICAN is an award winning blogger (2010 Canadian Weblog Award winner – best literature & writing category), father, performer, producer and founder of the prestigious Canadian Short Screenplay Competition (CSSC), an organization he formed to showcase and promote emerging screenwriters through recognition and the production of their winning work. In 2010 Cormican was a nominee for the Regina Mayor’s Arts & Business Award for Innovation in the Arts and a recipient of the National Screen Institute’s Drama Prize. In addition to establishing the CSSC's Short Film Fund, he is also a partner with Minds Eye Entertainment where he is in charge of development for the production company’s feature film, television and branded content. Recent producing credits include THE TALL MAN (Jessica Biel) and FACES IN THE CROWD (Milla Jovavich, Julian McMahon) for Minds Eye and RUSTED PYRE (Brooke Palsson, Samantha Somer Wilson) and MINUS LARA (a Bravo!FACT funded short starring Romina D’Ugo) for the CSSC. He is a board member for Regina Downtown Business Improvement District, a counselor for ACTRA Saskatchewan and board member representing the arts portfolio for SaskCulture. He also sits on various committees for SaskFilm, SMPIA and the Canadian Media Producers Association.
This entry was posted in #scriptchat, #ww, Announcement, Announcements, Industry News, News, Screenplay, Winner, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>